Volcan Poas

Norah gave us the concept of inconspicuous dances borrowing from Ralph Lemon. Here is my video culmination of our inconspicuous dances at Volcan Poas. It was interesting to try to find when the dances were happening, as some were truly inconspicuous. Personally, I enjoyed the care and decision process that the attentive observer was able to witness. Within the mundane actions, I watch a new awareness develop in the other dancers. They were simultaneously examining the magnificent environment of the volcanic hillside while experimenting with their own course of action within that place.

In my own dance, I found myself dedicated to the task of performing while being aware that no captive audience was present. It was some what gratifying to dance solely for myself. In the exploration, I became both performer and audience to what became a puddle-inspired solo. – Rachel

Music: “Of The Mountains” by Dan Deacon

IMG_2027

IMG_2026

IMG_2025

IMG_2024

IMG_2015

IMG_2018

Leave a comment